Zig zags.

I’m teaching some courses this year based on zig zag books. The books are ready made Khadi paper books, with 5 pages, measuring 15 x15 cm each page, so the books are 15 x 75 cm, double sided. There is a tinier version available too, but since I usually work on a larger scale, shrinking down to 15cm either way was quite enough thank you, as I have treated each page individually.

Actually it is good fun to make smaller pieces of work, and they will be much easier to work on. I have recycled some pieces of work and old prints, as well as painted and printed fabrics and other materials to make a small piece of work for each page, using both sides of the book, so that’s 10 pages in all.

So here they are, collaged, composed, and ready to finish. I will stitch and add other materials before attaching the work to the pages, and there may be more additions and supports added. Working on a small scale means these projects can be flexible, which of course is a euphemism for making it up as you go along.

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Book 1, both sides, made from computer prints on Khadi paper from a collaged worksheet, with fabric and paper additions.

DSC_0018

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

Book 2, made from block printed paper, acetate, drawings and text, both sides and a detail.

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0026

Book 3, both sides and a detail. This is made from printed and dyed Khadi paper and text.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0021

And Book 4, again both sides, made from an older piece of work, dissected and reorganised.

I’m hoping to finish these for inclusion into Quatrefoil’s exhibition Found at the RBSA Galleries in March-April.

I’m teaching there on 6/7 March too, and there are a couple of places left on the course, which is called ‘Exploring Your Environment, Experiments with Colour, Pattern and Stitch’. Here’s what we will be doing, below. It’s a lovely work space and gallery, with great facilities.

Using chosen objects or scenes from your favourite environment, from gardens to architecture, holidays to hobbies, produce the materials for and a piece of work based on your theme. Investigate and experiment with various ways of putting colour and pattern onto fabric, including block printing, stencilling, screen printing, painting and dyeing, and silk painting, with the resulting fabrics subsequently being used to make a piece of textile art, using collage and applique techniques.
6 thoughts on “Zig zags.

  1. What a visual feast. I can’t get to the course but you know I’ll have to go on that Khadi website now don’t you? I know I can fold my own sheets of paper but it’s the thought of working with that gorgeous texture already folded that’s makes me want to rush off to see what’s available!! Those books are stunning by the way, but I’m always saying that. Your idea of ‘small and jolly’ is ‘large’ to some and I think they look a perfect size to work with. Heading off to the web site now….

    1. Thanks Lesley, glad you like them, sorry to tempt you with that website though.They won’t cost you too much, however, and I must confess it’s the only way I will do zig zag books as I’m far too lazy to make my own. They are a good size to work with, a relief to be truthful, after a few months of working on bigger pieces [and with a few more months of that until they are all done; I may take to making miniatures next; no more storage problems at least.]

  2. I love these. Since I am currently overloaded with prints of leaves I have the materials, but it is a bit far to travel from australia, but i would love to do this. Beautiful

    1. Thanks Vicki. The textile scene in Australia seems to be really lively, it’s a pity we are so far away from each other. I’ll hopefully post some pictures of the workshops anyway.

Comments are closed.