Work in progress

I’m working on four seasonal hangings at the moment, amonst other things. The work is based upon my own garden, which is basically quite small and suburban, but is  full of trees and shrubs. This means it is quite interesting all the year round, especially with the addition of the snow we’ve had this winter. In fact the snowy winter piece isn’t on this image, I’ll  post that one later. The work is constructed from painted and printed calico using applique techniques.I pin them up on the wall while they are waiting for the next stage, which will be machine stitching, then hand stitching. They have two or three layers to give them weight. I’m just off to do some stitching on the winter one now; I’m aiming to increase the general size of the stitches I do by hand on these pieces, to introduce some new elements into my work, not that I’m known for my use of small, neat stitching…