Ladders again

I was only in the studio for a short time today as I went to the Tenth Anniversary party and exhibition opening at the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists at lunchtime; it was very good with one wonderful little speech given by Kenneth Howard RA. The importance of the Arts was high on the agenda of all the speeches.

I did manage to get a lot done in a short time at the studio though, and just had to get down another picture that I mentioned yesterday that was in my head and nagging to get out. It looks quite jolly but has relevant symbols and references for me, plus the enigmatic ladder which creeps into my work. I did make an ornamental ladder some years ago, using driftwood pieces. I don’t know why, but it seemed necessary at the time and now it’s insisting on being in quite a lot of my textile work too; that or one of its relations in the ladder world at least. I am trying to put a picture of it on the blog but it’s proving a little elusive.

It’s about 45 cm x 45 cm.