Framing

I’ve been framing a couple of pictures today, not my favourite activity I admit. One was in a new Habitat frame, they seem to be well made and easy to use, the other was in an old Ikea frame, a really good solid object. They don’t make them like that anymore unfortunately, hence the move to Habitat. I have a few good Ikea frames I bought years ago and I’m moving a few older pieces of work out of them and recycling them, as framing is a costly business if you’re not careful. Sometimes I’m more careful than others. At the moment dodgy job prospects have led to thrifty management of existing resources.

Had a pleasant afternoon out at a National Trust house in the Midlands called Baddesley Clinton, we go there relatively frequently, so here are a couple of pictures. It didn’t rain either, good. Spent a while watching the bees working in the sun.

Stiil stitching my garden piece, the Summer one, and thinking carefully about a slightly more political piece to do with my views on animal experiments. I don’t want it to be overly obvious, I don’t want to hit the viewer over the head. This was prompted not only by my general views and membership of the Dr. Hadwen Society but also by the reports of a particular exhibition in the current edition of Embroidery magazine. There’s an interesting article quoted too, written by John Berger, which I will catch up on.

1.View of the lake at Baddesley Clinton.

.

2.Typical Spring colours and skies.

.

3.One of the wonderfully pruned apple trees. This is why all my trees are so weird looking, I’m convinced.

.