The strange result of thinking…

So I thought by considering and consolidating my work I would have a little less to do and could adopt a more contemplative approach to the work. So then I have an idea, or actually have an old idea again, which is to do a series of work called “10 books”. They are actually the “pages” of books to be displayed as a wall installation. I could have done without this idea, all other work considered. There’s the teaching and a trade fair I seeem to have booked up, as well.

Goodo, I thought, and set to chopping up recently laid out work [Collection,and the painted piece] and also using older pieces of unused work, maps, music and linocut prints to make a group of works all the same size, as a sort of collection of memories, ideas, and esoteric collages. It was very enjoyable too, the main problem was knowing when to stop. I used plastic fabric from Ikea as a support for some pieces [it’s drawer liner] as well as shiny silver plastic [windscreen cover, keeps the heat out, £1 shop] and old counted thread canvas [I shall never count thread].

Of course I have more than 10 books pieces. I will finish as many as possible for the RBSA show, but before that I’m going to finish two outstanding quilts and possibly another [proper] book I’ m making for the Festival of Quilts, as that needs to be sorted and the work delivered before the end of July.

Off now for a few days, too much teaching, so no posts until next Tuesday 18th May.

Here are a couple of pictures of the early stages of the 10 Books project, which could of course just continue on and on…