14 Books…

Oh dear, it seems that the book project, which is actually a hanging, has developed two more components. It had to be done, I had some words that I wanted to use, and as it is autobiographical, they were relevant. It will stop there for the moment, but I suppose if it grew that would be fine.

They’ve all been machine stitched so far on a sturdy little Janome machine I have, which copes with many layers of paper and fabric, and I will start the hand stitching tonight. There won’t be too much of that though, my hand is not as tough as the Janome.

I’ve been at a craft fair all day with my daughter, she had a stand to sell her cards etc. It was at Selly Manor in Bournville in Birmingham, a beautiful Tudor house with a medieval barn in the garden too, which is where we were. The garden is lovely, the weather was good, it’s a shame about the World Cup, oh well.

Off to Stoke on Trent tomorrow to Staffordshire University with a friend to do some research at the Betty Smithers Collection. She was a designer and historian who donated her collection of clothing to the University.I have no idea what to expect, but the work resulting from the study day will be in an exhibition at the University in 2011, with the Midlands Textile Forum. I have found in the past that these study days really move my work into different directions. I’ll post a few images of my finds tomorrow.