Place, Object, Narrative

Well my show is up at the RBSA Gallery in Birmingham, we did it yesterday.I’m lucky to have my husband to help, he’s very patient, and I hate hanging exhibitions. It looks not too bad, there’s always something, like the pictue that always misbehaves but the smaller ones are screwed to the hanging rods which is a good  technique passed on to me by another member of the RBSA, for which I’m grateful. It keeps the pictures flat against the wall. The big ones are too heavy for that treatment so lean forward, I don’t mind that too much, it makes them look as if they want to be involved in what’s going on.

“14 Books” had to go on the end wall but there is a lot of electrical stuff along the bottom of the wall, which sort of spoils it but hey ho. I thought about doing a couple more additions with electrical references to cover it all up, doing something enigmatic with words like “resistance” and “current”. I can’t get to grips with “socket” or “wattage” though. Here’s a couple of images anyway. I didn’t make the sculpture in the image above by the way…