Hereford Fair

Well the Contemporary Craft Fair at the Courtyard Arts Centre in Hereford is over, which makes me a little sad. It’s hard work but enjoyable as I like the visitors and the place. Driving there or going on the train as I did this year too is a bit of a trek but is compensated by beautiful countryside, what with the Malverns, the orchards and the pheasants.

It was a good fair for me too, and there was some fantastic work. I bought a stylish basket from Jenny Pierce, who lives in Herefordshire on a smallholding, and grows some of her own willow. I was next to Bridget Drakeford, one of the best potters around. I’ve known her for some years, but she told me she too has a smallholding in Herefordshire. You can guess what’s coming next. Yes,I want one, in Herefordshire, a county I’ve admired since we started to drive through it going to this fair over the past 3 years, [but rarely stopping, unfortunately.] I’ve been extremely influenced by The Good Life and now that current take on it featuring Sue Perkins etc on BBC 2.

I know I recently railed against gardening but I had a bad back, that’s my excuse, and one can dream. Anyway, here’s a picture of my stand. I seem to spend a lot of time in 2 x 1 metre spaces…

4 thoughts on “Hereford Fair

  1. I think there’s something magnetic about Herefordshire too. I was brought up in Worcestershire, but it’s Herefordshire I want to retire to. It’s funny, but I think it’s a county that has some sort of special appeal to creative people. For me it seems to have the perfect combination of scenery, history and mystery – I’m feeling all tingly just thinking about it.

    A great blog by the way.

  2. Hi Ann,
    Lots of thanks for your comment. There do seem to be a remarkable amount of creative people there, and I note there is a large variety of cultural stuff going on too, which is well supported. That sounds condesending, not my intent at all, but you’re used to a lot of options when you live in a large city. However, I sometimes think there are too many options, so one does too little. Perhaps this is just me, and I need a simpler life! I imagine living somewhere where events and performances etc are more focused would mean I would go to more things. Also I note the pricing structure out of large cities makes this sort of thing more accessible. At the show I met three people from my distant past who have relocated to Herefordshire and love it, and many of the craftspeople at the show were not natives but are happily settled there, even Jenny Pierce the basket maker who always thought she would want to go back to her native Dublin but doesn’t feel the need to now. Thanks for the blog complement too, not sure if it’s deserved but I’ll keep trying.

  3. Steph, you will be surprised, no doubt, to see this coming up but I decided to have a look at your updated website….. and it’s wonderful! I didn’t know about your paintings and I think the dancing frogs are just lovely and jolly and such fun and remind me of your ceramics of that I have ( though they are mainly sea creatures). Yes, Hereford (fair and county) was wonderful, another ‘mini holiday’.

    See you Sunday.

Comments are closed.