More Earth Turning

 

I’ve finished laying out the pages for this volume in my Earth Turning series now, and some are machine stitched with a few in a queue too. Then it’s the hand finishing and binding. I may start the winter book too as it’s good to work within the actual season, although things don’t always work out that way as we know.

So here are a few more images of some pages, not finished yet but on their way.

I had a good day out yesterday at Compton Verney in Warwickshire, looking at the Quentin Blake show they have on. I’ve always been interested in illustration, particularly childrens’ book illustration, and he is best known for this; in this show however he was showing work he had done for hospitals and clinics, a difficult and demanding task. They were very uplifting and delicately balanced in this respect.

And, on the right, there is a link to a new blog. This is the SiX and friends blog, which should be fun and entertaining [that’s the others, I would point out] We are all preparing for some shows together, starting next year at Forge Mill Needle Museum in Worcestershire, and hopefully moving to Minerva Gallery in Wales and the Bramble Patch in Northamptonshire. The theme is anything oriental, and I know that some of us, now known as ‘the swots’,  have started and in one case finished pieces of work for the first show which starts on September 8th 2012. Needless to say I haven’t started a thing yet. You’ll notice some well known names in the line up, and it’s great to be part of it all, well, wonderful to be truthful.

From the Earth Turning, a dry point  print of toad lily flowers. I’ve managed to keep this book quite small, well for me anyway. It’s A3 sized.

A double page spread using prints on red khadi paper as well as on white khadi paper.

Prints and machine stitch.

I particularly enjoyed constructing this page.

The text is printed on acetate and the stems are machine stitched.

I will be concentrating next on putting together ‘Flowerpecker’, a hanging I started some time ago. It will be quite complex and a fair size [not sure how big yet, we’ll see how it evolves], and will be jolly and colourful, and more than a little jungly.

 

All images and text copyright Stephanie Redfern, all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “More Earth Turning

  1. Your prints are lovely – looks like we’ll have to invest in a press sometime in the future! I think Birmingham printmakers let you use their equipment, not sure where they are based but somewhere central.

  2. Hi Jacqui,

    Prints are fun aren’t they, you can do loads and use them for collage as well as in their own right and in pieces of work.
    Birmingham Printmakers are actually in the same building as me, where my studio resides. I should join and go downstairs to use their presses, but it’s always time issues isn’t it? I’ve made a note to link your blog to mine again, now you have time to write it.
    Sxx

Comments are closed.