Two pools, Autumn; and Christmas outings.

My pre Christmas outings have been very enjoyable this year, several occasions of meeting with friends, some of whom I haven’t seen for ages. I’ve also had a couple of quiet, simple visits just to two National Trust properties we go to a lot, as they are fairly close to home. I use NT visits as therapy, in many different ways, and always feel better after a visit.

My two favourites are Baddesley Clinton, a moated manor house in Warwickshire, and Hanbury Hall in Worcestershire is another . We went on Sunday, to hear carols in the Great Hall. It was a stunning frosty day too, with beautiful skies. I enjoy the weeks before Christmas more than the actual day, especially if I can put in place some quiet contemplative days; much better than shopping at this time of year.

The little bridge across the moat leading to the house at Baddesley Clinton.

The way into the house is through this courtyard. I’m easy to please, they have opened up the housekeeper’s room and butler’s pantry, I was thrilled.

This is Hanbury Hall.

Here we have part of the formal garden. All that box to clip, my back seizes up just looking at it. Father Christmas was working hard entertaining many children in the far building. For the rest of the year apparently he’s a volunteer steward there, who would have guessed that?

And from the gardens, sunset over the Malvern Hills.

This is Two pools, Autumn, a piece I made with the  fabric and paper I painted in a demonstration at the most recent workshop I taught, at Avoncroft Arts Centre in Worcestershire. It’s about 75 cm x 35 cm.

A close up. I’ve kept the stitching very plain and simple on this piece, as the fabrics were doing most of the work and I wanted to maintain a sense of space.

Well that’s all until after Christmas, so have a good one everybody! Sx

8 thoughts on “Two pools, Autumn; and Christmas outings.

  1. I went to Baddesley at the weekend to see the decorations etc as it’s fairly local. Gorgeous. I then went on to Charlecote for the carols….sounds like we have similar interests!!! Merry Christmas to you too; have a good one x

  2. So glad I came across your work and found your blog this year Steph. It has become a favourite read of mine and I am still in awe of your work rate! Have a great Christmas and New Year

  3. I totally agree with your sentiments re:the run up to Christmas. I hope you have an enjoyable (quiet) one 🙂

  4. Happy Christmas Steph. Thank you for the wonderful course, the fabulous and generous blog and for being such a creative inspiration and a really nice person
    I hope that I have the pleasure of meering you again next year
    Love Shelagh

Comments are closed.