Experimenting with drawings

I had a quiet day on Wednesday, due to an operation on my ear and having to go to teach in the evening. Normally I would be at the studio, but stayed at home and drew the garden, using Inktense pencils which I like a lot, but don’t use as much as I would like to.

Although the day was very dull, a grey and green day is my description, a description which covered many of our holidays in the Lake District over the years, the relevant pencils stayed in the box and the considerably brighter colours presented themselves.

These are the results; these trees have featured in a fair amount of my work. I am going to print them out onto a variety of media, from khadi paper to acetate, and onto fabric. I will experiment on the prints by stitching on them, cutting them up, and manipulating them. I can’t just leave them as drawings!

Tree I. We put this laburnum in as a sapling but neglected to support it, fortunately, so now it has grown into this wonderful curved shape. I love the colours but will have a little play on Photoshop too, certainly to change them to black and white at least.

This pair of whitebeams are really too large for our small garden, but they produce a lot of berries which then lead to bullfinches, and we are fond of our trees, and the bullfinches, as well as the other birds the trees  feed. The leaf bud clusters in spring are sublime.

I liked this isolated area, and can imagine it printed out and used as a background, or as a square of colour and design, manipulated and used in a repeat pattern, or abstract piece of work.

I will play with this isolated shape too, with the wonderful rich Inktense colours and the fine lines.

So it’s on with the printing and cutting; let’s see what happens.

6 thoughts on “Experimenting with drawings

  1. I bought the graphitint pencils last year from Derwent and quite like using them but they don’t have the vibrancy that you’ve created here with the Inktense ones. Looks like another investment in drawing materials coming up for me!

  2. Lovely drawings Steph. Yes, what is it about textile artists that we can’t leave anything without cutting it up & stitching it back together! I’m the same with the prints I’ve made, they are all collages now much to the chagrin of my tutor!

  3. Hi Lesley,
    I really enjoy using these, they look good use as pencils, but when you put water onto them they are wonderful, just like watercolour in many ways, and brilliant colour.

  4. Hi Jacqui,
    Thanks for the complement, they are useful as working drawings, or as you say to play around with. I’m glad it’s not just me that has to cut stuff up! When I did some printmaking I ended up doing the same as you, I particularly liked some pale dry point prints I did, about the 4th or 5th from the block without re-inking. The tutor looked very confused when I liked them so much, and one student said ‘I didn’t think you could do that’, which is sweet really, as textile artists are like fine artists in that we do whatever we want; I love to introduce that freedom to experiment in classes.

  5. Stephanie, I hope your ear is all better now. A quiet day drawing in the garden sounds lovely – might do that myself! Love the lime green shadowing in the first drawing especially.

  6. Claire, it is a naughty ear. I love lime green, although I know it upsets some people [my Mum!]
    It’s a Marmite sort of colour. Hope you get into the garden when you have time, not long to wait.

Comments are closed.