Phew

I’ve managed this week to finish quite a lot of work, which seems to have been dragging on for ages. Perhaps it’s because it’s spring. Anyway, it’s good, because all I have to finish now is a hanging consisting of a fair amount of sheets of stitched khadi paper; this is the Moth Pages. All the pieces are ready to be strung together, I just need to procure a long baton.

I have sneakily started another piece of work, this time for the Orientated exhibition with Six and Friends. I do like starting new work, certainly more than finishing work off; I’ll post this piece as it moves on. There are also two smaller pieces posted below that I started.

I managed to see the Leonardo Drawings exhibition here at Birmingham Art Gallery yesterday. There was a queue, but not too long, and the queue does wind through various interesting galleries. It’s wonderful how popular art is these days with such a wide range of people, whether they have to pay or not to see these shows; look at the success of the Hockney and Leonardo shows in London, and Grayson Perry’s show, and the new galleries in Wakefield and Margate. I’m sure there are many more examples too. There were ten drawings in the Leonardo show, not too overwhelming, which can sometimes be the case when you first enter a huge show. I particularly liked the anatomical drawings, and the oak leaves, and a tiny exquisite drawing of an island.

Next week is a hefty week of teaching and being at the NEC here in Birmingham, at the Sewing for Pleasure show. I have work on two stands, with Quatrefoil and Eclectica, two groups to which I belong. I will be on the stands, and on one occasion at the moment I will be on both stands at the same time, which should be interesting. No doubt I will be posting a few images of the show.

Now here are a few images of my finished work, finished, hooray.

I mounted and wrapped five smaller pieces, which I had finished stitching a couple of weeks ago, and which were hanging around in the hope of being entirely finished at some point. Here are two of them.

Summer night, lake and Moon. A3 sized.

Summer gold. A4 sized.

This is Beyond Dark Spaces, which is about 120 cm by 280 cm. This will be at Debut, a show I am in with Quatrefoil at the RBSA Galleries in Birmingham in May, then it will go to the Festival of Quilts.

Here’s a close up of one section. It’s layered organzas, metallic and painted fabric on thick felt and finally on very thick khadi paper.

This is Beach. The upper and lower sections have existed for some time, and the centre section is new. All three are mounted on thick khadi paper. It’s about 140 cm long, at a guess, I admit I haven’t measured it properly. It will also be at the RBSA and FoQ.

I also started these two pieces of work, based on the Beach piece. They will be framed, when they are finished, and are A2 sized.

They are a mix of recycled and painted fabrics, most done as demonstrations on courses, and some commercial indigo coloured fabric. These demo fabrics often look dire on the day, but when I get them back to the studio I invariably find them really exciting.

This is a page from Mist and Grey, a textile artist’s book, the first of four based on the seasons. This is autumn moving into winter. I started it last July, using prints I had made on a course, some dry points, and a new collograph made after the course. I then incorporated new and refigured existing embroideries too, and mixed media, so now it’s a chunky piece of work. It’s A3 sized, and features my text.

This is a piece of new embroidery on one of the pages, based on toad lily flowers. I have used these flowers and moths as some of the main motifs throughout the book. The next book is almost on the go, it’s summer, moving into autumn. Mist and Grey will also be at the two previously mentioned venues, as will the Moth Pages, when it’s done.

Back to photoshop now, there’s a fair few images to deal with, that will be another phew when they’re done.

8 thoughts on “Phew

  1. Hello Hilary, these projects have been on the go for what seems like ages though, but I am so pleased to have wound them up. I’m good at putting in the hours but not a fast worker; unfortunately I always find time to eat…

  2. Steph, I’m reeling from all the work on display here. So much to take in and absorb! I know that feeling of starting something while the inspiration is fresh in your mind. It’s heady stuff isn’t it, until the reality of the scale of your ideas hit you and you realise how many man hours they need to finish them. I think you do it just right, keeping lots of things on the go at different stages. Who cares how long they take to finish? The thing is, you DO finish them and I so admire that focus. Good luck with being in two places at the NEC! PS ; Love that image of ‘Beach’.

  3. Thanks Lesley, you are right of course that it doesn’t matter how long things take to finish; ideally they will be done at some stage. Also, I increasingly work on more than one project at a time. It’s a sort of weird combination of energising and exhausting, I suppose depending on how tired you are on a particular day. But I think that is how ideas and new pathways develop too. Also, I do have space at the moment with this studio, which has led to this sort of behaviour…

  4. It’s satisfying to finish a stack of work isn’t it? Lots of strong coffee this week to see you through!

  5. That’s true Claire, but guess what, I’ve started to put together three new projects today. It is a sort of organising stage, and when these are done, it’s definitely one at a time from then on. I may be moving from the studio so feel a pressure to use the time and space to get a lot sorted. It was very enjoyable though.

  6. I think the neutral colours of these pieces are what I find so calming especially the moon ones – love them

Comments are closed.