Real gardens and Floating Gardens

Well, Sewing for Pleasure at the NEC is over, and I enjoyed the couple of days I worked there. It was great to catch up with  people; I do enjoy the textile world. My daughter came for a day too, which was particularly good. I was really quite sensible re spending, buying only necessary thread [black and white for the machine], and gemstone beads that I use continually. I did linger around the sewing machine stands rather a lot, stroking one or two giant computerised beasts. There was a Brother I especially liked, time to start saving up perhaps.

I  managed a day in the garden on Saturday though, tidying and planting seeds. We have had, in fact are having, stunning weather, but what we do really need is rain. That will undoubtedly happen all summer.

Last week I started a piece for Orientation, the show with SiX and Friends, so here are images of the very early stages of that piece, and our garden too, which I can’t resist posting, as I have immense daffodil pride.

Naughtily or cleverly, I decided to use some pieces of work I started at least two years ago. They would never have been finished in their original form, and as I am trying to use what I have without buying excessive materials or starting yet another piece, I liked the challenge. Eventually I decided to use only the central monochrome section, as the pink and green pieces were not happy together. I shall probably use them in an artist’s book, or two. They were all a couple of metres long.

After much chopping and moving of fabric, it’s on the wall, so I can have a really good look at it,  but it will have more pieces added. I was going for minimal but it looks too mean at the moment; red is needed. So this looks to be a floating winter garden, not my original idea but I’m not unhappy. It is constructed on A3 sheets of khadi paper; machine and hand stitch will follow, and more images.

Now I had to post this to prove that on a cold November day, it is worth digging all those holes and planting all those daffodil bulbs. Yes, the fence is about to fall over.

One of my favourite hellebores, which likes life in a raised bed.

This is a beautiful miniature cherry tree, in the same bed as the hellebore. It is so exquisite, and is about ten years old and still quite tiny.

And two big pots of rocket and lettuce seeds coming along nicely, as long as the climbing slugs don’t put their crampons on.

2 thoughts on “Real gardens and Floating Gardens

  1. Do you happen to know the name of the hellebore? It is gorgeous and so different. You daffodils are gorgeous. Mine are only starting to bloom. Every year I try to plant more. I figure by the time I am worm food, I will have enough spring bulbs. 🙂 The monochrome piece is lovely. Wishing you a week filled with beauty.

  2. Hi Jeannie, I lost the label long ago, sorry. I bought it from the Botanical Gardens here in Birmingham, but it’s not rare, I’ve seen a few around. It is lovelier in real life. Lucky you with your daffodils just starting; spring flowers just wizz past don’t they?

Comments are closed.