Moths and Stone.

I’ve finished the tenth piece from my Found series now, so that completes the set; this one is named Found 10, Moths and Stone.

The whole work, that is all ten pieces, will be at the Festival of Quilts and then in an exhibition in Birmingham in October called Found, with 2 of my friends from the Quatrefoil Textile Group. It’s great that they are all finished, but I have caused myself some problems as I’m not sure how to hang them all. They are A2 sized, on Khadi paper, and although they will be together at FoQ, I don’t want to string them together, as they will be exhibited in a different way at the next venue. I should have learned by now to keep it simple stupid but fear I never will.

I’m also worried that needing them to be individually hung at FoQ will cause a lot of work for the people there, as it will be fiddly to say the least. I do have ideas about how to do it though; I have one more such piece to finish, which is Floating Gardens, for the Six and Friends shows, and after that I don’t imagine I will do any more large component pieces, for quite a while at least.

W1

I made some porcelain moths for this piece, but decided not to use them, as I preferred the flatter look of printed paper and acetate, using the repeated moth shapes in two different sizes. The ceramic moths will appear some where else at some point, I should think.

The moths were from two illustrations in my artist’s book, Mist and Grey.

W2

This chappie is printed on Khadi paper.

W3

And this moth is printed on acetate. The red/turquoise combination is, I think, always beautiful. I’m sure I read in one of Shelia Paine’s books about ethnic embroidery that it is an auspicious colour combination but I couldn’t locate the reference. I’ll carry on looking.

7 thoughts on “Moths and Stone.

  1. I’m with you on the colour combination – funny how some things just sing. A wonderful group Stephanie – I’m sure you’ll find a way to show them that feels right.

  2. Two favourite things here :No 1 – moths! I am a passionate moth trapper even though winter traps yield very little so I love your hawk moth shapes Steph. No 2 – one of my favourite colour combinations (after good old black and white) is blue and terracotta and I think the red/turquoise combo is in the same area so it works really well in my eyes. I wish I could suggest a brainwave idea for displaying this series but am sure someone else will come up trumps and suggest something wonderful.

    1. I forgot you know a lot about moths Lesley. I don’t, but I do love them. I hope you will be posting your moth trapping results. I may have a go with a moth trap when the weather warms up. If you feel like posting a beginners’ guide to making one, feel free…

      1. I think you might be in the minority Steph about wanting to make a moth trap. Most of my friends shudder in distaste when I ask if they’d like to see what we’ve collected ! Your comment made me wonder how easy it would be to make a trap out of accessible materials and I found a link for one made from a large square cardboard box with a light bulb clipped to the edge. We use a Mercury Vapour bulb but this link suggested any ordinary bulb would work. Might be worth a try and I’ll send you the link if you want to have a try!

  3. Yes please Lesley, send me the link. I’d love to see whatever you collected. When I set it up we’ll have to compare town and country collections. To anyone reading this we should point out the moths are not killed or harmed. Those people with an infestation of clothes moths may not be impressed by that, however…

Comments are closed.