Blue sky and finished work.

More images than words today, as previously promised.

I had a day off on Thursday and went to Stratford with a friend. We were so lucky to have one of the best days [ sun! not freezing! ] for ages. It was a very good day, good company, lots of talking and altogether relaxing.

???????????????????????????????

Stratford canal locks by the River Avon.

???????????????????????????????

Where the canal meets the River Avon, and as you can see, many swans.

???????????????????????????????

The theatre [RSC, Royal Shakespeare Company] and the Avon, which was getting fuller as we watched, and later flooded the paths, due to snow melt I imagine, and lots of rain in previous days.

W4

One of the residents. The reflection is like a cloud.

W5

A view from our riverside walk.

W6

This beech must have pachyderm genes.

W7

And the famous Dirty Duck aka The Black Swan, where lunch was had.

I’ve finished my three new and last beach pieces this week, for a show in May, and for inclusion into our book, ‘Coast’. We are producing small books on specific themes, the first two of which are ‘Plant Life’, and ‘Coast’. We is myself and my friend Hilary Beattie.

The full finished works are in Gallery One, so here are some close ups, which I really like and would quite like to see how they would look printed as fabrics, and collaged.

W4

W5

W6

W7

W8

W9

I have also finished my second piece for the Six and Friends exhibition ‘Orientation’ at the Bramble Patch, which runs from 23rd March to 6th April. Here it is, the long running ‘Floating Gardens’, not the best image as it was taken on our kitchen wall, where it was assembled. It is appliqued and stitched onto Khadi paper, with gold leaf added, as although I originally wanted it to be minimal and pale, I changed my mind.

It’s 120 cm x 70 cm.

W1A

Floating Gardens.

 

8 thoughts on “Blue sky and finished work.

  1. Goodness Steph, I give up. How on earth did you do so much work? I am looking forward to your books, great idea, will they be for sale at FOQ?
    Love the gold edges

    1. Hi Shelagh, I’m just lucky at the moment to be having a bit more time, until the teaching schedule gets going next month. The Floating Gardens piece was all laid down and machine stitched ages ago too, I just added hand stitch and beads, and the gold leaf.
      The books will be at FoQ we hope, that’s the general idea!

      1. Yes, the day job gets in my way big time at the moment, leaves no headspace for much creative work, good job that I did most of the Stitched Scapes last Autumn. Ear mark me the books, I am sure that I will want them.

  2. Great photos Steph and a real feel of a step change in the weather. I have never been to Stratford but would enjoy exploring the canals and the wildlife. I am taken with all of the pieces you’ve shown here but the ‘beach’ work is my favourite. I can’t find the right phrases to tell you why , it’s just everything about them works for me! Maybe it’s because of the proximity of the real thing. I was thinking of going for a walk today along the beach because the weather is stunning again…. and I’ve done all my chores for the day so I am FREE! Sorry to have mentioned it again…. really….

    1. The photos weren’t bad for me were they Lesley! Outdoors and good light help a lot. Stratford is rich in bird life, lots of swans, geese, other water birds, in quantity, wandering around, wanting food. Not quite what you mean, I know. I live surrounded by canals, here in the Midlands, but don’t really take advantage of that. A nice little narrow boat would help…
      Thanks for your comment about the beach pieces, and for mentioning how close you are to some of the best beaches anywhere! Which is your closest beach? My pieces are more like beaches of the mind, I think, which literally is as close as I get to the real thing these days.

Comments are closed.