Mostly images.

Mostly images in this post, as it’s Mothers’ Day, and indeed our mothers are soon arriving for lunch, which I have yet to cook.

I have been stitching the large new piece this week, last seen in my previous blog post, which may be called Flowering II. I don’t really want to call it Nasturtiums, as I keep wanting to abbreviate it to nasties, which is unfair. I’ll post that one when it’s done, but here are a few new small pieces, made from the remnants left over from the making of the large piece.

PicMonkey Collage

These three pieces are all under 30 cm, and utilise some spare birds made for another piece of work, where they were not used. That’s why they are all similar, basically.

1 (9)

And this is one of those small triptychs I so enjoy making.

1 (8)

This woodland inspired chappie is about 40 cm long, and is a mix of fabrics on Khadi paper. They have all been machine stitched now and await their finishing touches of hand stitch and beads.

I’m very much looking forward, when these are done, and other jobs besides, to continuing with a large textile artist’s book I started last year. It is based on Summer, that long forgotten season. [As I write the snow is falling.] Here are a few images of pages in progress.

1 (2)

Actually I could seriously think about a few other things to write about rain, after the amount we’ve had during the last few months, but let’s instead keep it all poetic. This page and the one below look wintry, but you see it’s night, and dawn.

1 (3)

I’ve used quite a few older embroideries in this book too, cutting them up and collaging them with prints of other work, drawings and close ups of stitched areas. These pages are quite large, about 70 x 30 cm.

1 (4)

A mix here of prints on Khadi paper of a large embroidery and of drawings on acetate.

1 (5)

There will be more text and also stitch added, and of course the inevitable and extremely useful beads. The bling on this is gold leaf, which I am never tempted to nibble upon.

1 (6)

Hot late summer pinks.

1 (7)

Whenever I think pink, a bullfinch appears.

Next week I am decidedly following my one thing at a time principal. This has slipped of late. It does this without me noticing, but I have decided that after 12 if not more years of making hand stitched cards, something, ie them, has got to go from the job list, so I am stitching the last batch, of which there are many. Deciding what you do and don’t want to do and continue with is an excellent process to embark upon, with the result that you can concentrate more happily on fewer chosen aspects of your work. It does, however, seem to mean that you have to really get stuck in to clear a few backlogs, and sort a few drawers and cupboards, but so far it has been well worth it.

4 thoughts on “Mostly images.

  1. These are all lovely. Thank you also for your hugely inspiring piece in workshop on the web – I’ve already got three small (A6!) pieces waiting for me to stitch them now, thanks to your article – just the push I needed to get some things done.

  2. Thanks Iz, and I’m pleased the article was useful too. A6 is good; small pieces are very satisfying to make, and you don’t end up grinding your teeth as you plough through the stages of that large piece which seemed such a good idea when you started it!

  3. There is a pair of bullfinches around here and I see them infrequently, usually when they want to come and nibble the buds on my damson tree! Saw the female at the weekend but no sign of the male. Now’s the time they get their breeding plumage and it is not so much pink Steph as a fiery pinky orange, almost closer to the colour of a nasturium than you’d credit. I really like that celadon green/orangey red colourway. It’s very fresh and clear. More great images to pore over and enjoy.

    1. Thanks Lesley, I do like a red/green combination myself. I often think of using it but rarely do, so at least I’ve managed to this time.
      Bullfinches are wonderful until you have fruit trees that you would actually like to harvest fruit from! So I’m ok, they can all come here, I only have some failed apple trees and a poor pear.
      We had eight of them, four pairs, feeding on berries in our small suburban garden, about four years ago. It was wonderful, but hasn’t happened since; we have had a pair or two all winter. The colour of the male never fails to thrill me.

Comments are closed.