Moving on with From the Bright Sky.

And indeed needing a touch of bright sky too. The  weather here in the Midlands has been quite grim; dark grey skies and rain; that good summer has spoiled us. I am, however, enjoying working with bright colour and pattern, and have a few more pieces from the series From the Bright Sky laid down. There will be twelve altogether, so one more to go.

It’s been a busy time with teaching and ageing parents, so work has slowed down a little, but here are the latest pieces. I have a plan to put them in a book together with the Found pieces, and one or two other pieces of new work, which I will probably and somewhat unimaginatively entitle ‘New Work’, unless something more exciting comes up. I can think of any amount of esoteric wordage, but nothing that would cover several pieces of work, in an understandable way, but does that matter? I will think on’t.

Below are the latest pieces, all about A2 in size, constructed from appliquéd painted, printed and dyed fabrics, with some papers and metallic fabrics too.

DSC_0010

DSC_0008

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0006

DSC_0004

I’ll be adding machine stitch next. I’m thinking wave lengths and undulating diagonals; perhaps that could be the title of the book…

9 thoughts on “Moving on with From the Bright Sky.

  1. I never fail to be taken by your choice of imagery Steph but that first picture stands out. I don’t know whether it’s because of the colour choice or because of the imagery. I love black and white with any of the primaries. That yellow just glows. Another great book in the making.

    1. Thanks Lesley, I like that one too, it’s quite wizzy. The piece was based on the fabric with the swirls on that was a very quick demonstration piece that I did during a workshop, and was ideal for the moth theme. By the way, I totally failed to make a moth trap, even though it was the best summer possible; I’ll just read your blog instead.

  2. Hi George,
    Thanks, that is the general idea, although not thoroughly done, mainly due to the vastness of the project, and the inadequacies of me! It is a celebration of Earth.

  3. Oooh! It’s all so lovely that I want to eat it up! Is the dragonfly a thermofax? I think it is stunning…I’m scared that next time I look at it, it might have flown away. You’d best watch out that it doesn’t escape…along with that running rhino!

    1. Thanks Bonnie, yes it is a thermofax made from a photograph I took of a dragonfly I have had for years. I tweaked it in Photoshop and printed it out at A4 size, so it looks quite terrifying, like one of those giant prehistoric dragonflies.

Comments are closed.