Natural History, part two.

Yesterday I laid down number 21 of the Natural History series. It’s the last one. I didn’t know how many I would do, but carried on until things came to a natural end, and with a number I liked; 19 would have been strange, for instance, I have no idea why, but there we are.

I’ve finish three pieces completely, as I hand stitched them, and now  I’m machining the others, before they have some hand stitch added too. The machine is valiantly going where no sewing machine should have to go, bless it.

Here are a few more of the pieces, starting with the one that celebrates bones, followed by the fossil loving piece. They are 95 x 35 cm.

1

2

3

Leafy sea dragons with a jelly fish, and close ups below.

4

5

The sea dragons were cut from some of my photographs of a couple of my idea boards, made when I was working on my Beach series of work.

6

7

8

These rhinos are also in From the Bright Sky, another piece of work I am completing, but they demanded to be used again. I love the sturdy running shape.

9

The materials for the beetles piece being auditioned.

10

The finished piece, with a detail below. I’d been wanting to use these acrylic painted pieces of fabric for some time, and they found a home with the beetles.

11

12

A bunch of richly coloured materials waiting to be used for the rose hip and bird piece, shown below.

13

14

I used some cotton printed with thermofax screens and then dyed as a base, with fabric, photographs and maps cut up and collaged onto it for the rose hips.

15

Coming soon, the final instalment of Natural History.

8 thoughts on “Natural History, part two.

  1. You are so generous showing your processes! I thought I was weird having a whole pile of stuff ‘ideal’ for a piece and then producing a relatively small piece and having lots to put back. You’re showing me it’s ok, thank you.

    1. Dee you would be amazed at the amount of stuff I get out for some pieces. It’s so difficult to edit it out, and I waste a lot of time I’m sure trying to fit in that ‘ideal’ bit of fabric or paper. When I start a new project I seem to pull out everything I have, in the conviction there will be a place for all of it!

  2. The black and yellow piece with the sea urchin is stunning Steph, as is the rest, but this piece grabs my attention. I love your thought processes too. Your brain synapses must be turbo charged when you get going!

    1. It was an intense couple of weeks Lesley, and now I need an equally intense couple more to finish them all. I like the sea urchin one too. It’s actually a large digital print I did on Khadi paper, from a photograph I took at the Natural History Museum in Oxford. It’s worked hard, that photo, as I did several drawings from it too, to make thermofax screens.

  3. How amazing. You produce art that I could never imagine! It truly takes my breath away…and I love to read your processes. I live to dream!

  4. What a wonderful miscellany Steph – where else could a post encompass rhino and rosehips – Arthur Mee would have been very fond of you.

Comments are closed.