The annual rearrangement of the furniture.

Every year or so I become bored with our furniture. Total replacement is out of the question but then of course I am fond of some of the old sticks. I have managed to remove a very irritating sofa completely out of the house, and indeed to a new home somewhere, no questions asked, so that is what I call a result. This has left us with the necessity to rearrange the weird collection of basically hopelessly- unsuited- to -task furniture we have, [ except the plan chest of course, let that beast not be insulted ] and this year it involved three rooms, and much moving upstairs and down of objects and the vast amount of stuff these objects manage to contain. When I think we moved into this house we had so little and it was so easy; years of accumulation and now all the necessities needed for textile art have filled all the spaces. If only I was a coloured pencil artist, a few boxes of pencils and some nice paper, a small table, a light, sorted.

DSC_0066

 

DSC_0067The ‘conservatory’ end of the kitchen I use as a studio has had a sort out, this is afterwards, obviously; it’s quite amazing, I have to keep standing and staring at it.

I found a lot of inspiring and interesting bits and bobs to make new work from when I ventured into my plan chest; those chaps hold a lot, and they never seem to demand to be tidied, but when you do, it’s worth it. Due to the furniture shuffle I have space in my space. I like this, it’s very calming, but, I so want to fill it with one of those very expensive giant Horn tilting tables. It’s sad to say but the desire for that table takes up much more of my thinking time than it should.

DSC_0071The yo-yo cupboard, named because for 32 years it has moved in and out of the house from the garage at least six times. It’s been in the house for a couple of years now, so may be safe since I basically can’t be bothered to move it again. It has a new position here though, although it is still full of art materials. I put the quilt on the wall as what I call a sensible alternative to decorating.

I have been spending a lot of time working on the computer, which although it is proper work, which may or may not evolve into something useful, it never feels like it to me. I feel as if I have been lazy with the practical work, although I have been stitching a few more pages of the frankly enormous book which I shall be more than pleased to finish, hopefully this century. I am hoping that the refined studio space will encourage me to make less monumental work, but I doubt it will, I have no sense.

Here are a few of the pages done and in progress. There aren’t that many left to do now; because of the way I had left the pile I am working backwards through early summer now to spring, and eventually the change from winter to early spring. Don’t worry, there is no need to keep up with this in any way.

DSC_0072Summer beach pages in progress, above, and below, two finished pages and some details. These are mainly paper collage, prints from earlier embroideries, cut up, arranged, and with added stitch and beads.

DSC_0075

 

DSC_0076

 

DSC_0077

 

DSC_0079

 

DSC_0080

10 thoughts on “The annual rearrangement of the furniture.

  1. Had to laugh, have just been through a similar process again here – and we have a yo-yo cupboard too, it’s currently in the sitting room having failed to find anyone on Free-cycle to take it away…

    1. I’ve mentioned the yo-yo cupboard before and quite a few people seem to have one. I will keep ours now, it has been a good old thing. We bought it second hand years ago to turn into a dresser but the shelves were never made. It’s been woody, green and white-ish, and now it’s shabby chic. I love that badly maintained furniture has a name, perfect for our house.
      Perhaps your cupboard is meant to live with you Anny. I have had some experiences with donating via Freecycle, never again…

  2. Wow Stephaine these are lovely. There must be something about spring as I did my studio too. Can’t find anything now but it is very satisfying to see it tidy xx

    1. I know exactly what you mean Anne, I keep opening the wrong drawers in the plan chest as I have arranged them in a more ‘sensible’ way. Also in the effort to make it look tidier more is ‘placed’ into the yo-yo cupboard, in such a way that I have to unpack it to get what I want…

    1. Thanks Debbie. I have always loved the sea, and fantasise about living close to it. Well, not too close perhaps, thinking back to the winter storms, but within sight of it at least. One of the reasons for this is because I live in Birmingham, a city very definitely without a sea front. I was going to say unfortunately about the sea front, but actually fortunately would be more apt.

  3. Thoroughly enjoy your blog, you are so funny and you make me laugh. (In the nicest possible way, of course. I think people like us must be very much alike – have too much stuff, don’t have enough space to put it in and cause chaos in every part of the house!! At least we aren’t boring!!

    Best wishes,
    Margaret

    1. Margaret you are right. I keep trying to be organised and sorted, but actually it does take away spontaneity and creativity if you worry too much about how many materials you have, and how they should be simple and minimal and all that sort of thing, and those thoughts basically take up too much energy. A tidy up every so often and then forget about it and just make work, that’s the way. Also, houses are meant to be lived in aren’t they, so well done for invading every room!

  4. I love the notion of giving furniture a name. We have a print, called our ‘arm and a leg picture’ because a girl I worked with offered to get her husband to frame it for me. He chose reclaimed Georgian floor boards to do it in at least five times the value of the print and the cost made me keel over, hence the ‘name’. As ever Steph, I read these posts with a wry smile as you muse about working smaller and then continue to do the opposite. I think the very act of committing those thoughts to paper – or screen – is enough. Carry on as you are because the results are great to see and looking through the plan chest is good advice. I did that the other day and was amazed at what I’d forgotten I had. Those deep drawers are great for losing things in!

    1. One way of looking at the exorbitant frame price Lesley is that it has given you years of amusement, which is often the only if not the best way to deal with that sort of thing. You do hear some framing stories though, and I have been caught out in a similar way. As for future work, thank you for your kind comments; undoubtedly I will plunge into my materials store and make exactly what I like with no clear thought of size, or storage problems, but there we are; enthusiasm is all.
      I know I go on about the plan chest, but you know what I mean, they are amazing aren’t they? Also very heavy, we can never move house.

Comments are closed.