Festival of Quilts, all over for another year.

steph.redfern1@btinternet.com

Phew, there it was, gone. Shows like this are crazy, really; an amazing creative event running absolutely full on for four days, then all cleared away until next time, not a trace left except in people’s memories, on their cameras and with a possible impact on their wallets too.

It was a great show, with so much lovely work. I particularly enjoyed Alicia Merrett’s gallery,  the European Art Quilt gallery, and Eszter Bornemisza’s amazing work. Then there was Anne Johnston and the Fine Art Quilt Masters galleries too, which were inspiring.

Our gallery, Art Textiles: Made in Britain was a lovely calm, white space, and I think it’s accurate to say we were all thrilled by the result of many months of hard work, which although featuring the hugely differing work of the eleven members, looked elegant and coherent. We received so many positive comments, it was marvellous, with many people saying it was their favourite.

Here are a few images, starting with my own stand. Many thanks to all the lovely people I spoke to, both old friends and new ones too, it was such a pleasure to meet you all, and thanks to Chloe, my lovely daughter, aka the product queen, for her help on the stand. It would have been impossible without her and my husband, who is the driver and an exceptionally indispensable bod.

IMG_1885

 

IMG_1893

Above, the Art Textiles:Made in Britain gallery, with some more images below. I will be putting more images onto the ATMIB website soon, too.

IMG_1910

IMG_1928

IMG_1944

IMG_1967

Here’s Hilary Beattie, on the left, the person who had the idea of forming Art Textiles: Made in Britain, and who has done so much work in getting it all going and indeed keeping it all going; it wouldn’t exist without her. Next to her is Cas Holmes, another hard working group member, as is Rosie James, below. We need a group photograph, must sort that for the next show.

IMG_1969

So that’s all for another year at the Festival of Quilts, no excuses now, time to get down to some more work.

IMG_1963

18 thoughts on “Festival of Quilts, all over for another year.

  1. Lovely post Stephanie and lovely to meet you again. I am unsure I was able to leave a comment on the post.

    All best

    Casx

    Connected by Motorola

    1. Thanks Cas, and yes, you can comment any time you want to! I’m really pleased I managed to photograph you on the stand too. Hopefully we’ll be meeting up again soon. Stephx

  2. It was a fantastic show, there seemed to be even more work on display than usual and really good quality work too. Yours was my favourite! Unfortunately, I lost my camera so am hoping it is amongst lost property but have to wait to find out 😕
    All those lovely photos! I hope someone handed it in.
    Well done on all your hard work…….beautiful.

    1. Thank you Catherine, I’m really pleased you enjoyed the show, it was very good wasn’t it? Fingers crossed your camera is with the lost property; they should be back in the office tomorrow so you will soon know; let me know if you get it back.

      1. Sadly, the camera has not been handed in but I am not going to let it spoil a fabulous day.
        I am working on a new project between the ‘day job’ and looking forward so much to starting C and G textile course at Malvern Campus in September. I am trying to find time to attend one of your workshops too!
        Your book was amazing, it must have been so satisfying putting it all together. Your work is so inspirational.
        My blog is catherinechapple.blogspot.co.uk if you fancy a glance at my work and bad photography! 😊

      2. That’s a real pity, did you check with the NEC too, in case it was found outside the Festival? Just a thought.
        Lovely blog, the tree is beautiful, I love the tiny and beautifully coloured leaves, and the piece you made with the fabric from Angie’s class; I could never do anything so accurate!

  3. So good to meet you at the Show Stephanie, and to see your wonderful work. I love the way you use text. I’m so glad I bought the ‘Found’ collection, and it’s really good to be able to see your processes on the Net. I’ve been printing up fabrics since got home and have started my first zigzag book!

    1. So pleased you have been inspired Ali, and thank you for your complements. I love making zig zag books, they are perfect for gathering together ideas and making lovely narrative pieces.

  4. Good to read about another successful FOQ for you Steph. Sounds like a good time was had by all and it has been interesting picking up different artist’s names as I’ve been doing my regular blog reading. I bet any mention of your online course gathered a few willing fans at the NEC so – no pressure here of course – I hope you’re cracking on with the planning as I’m really looking forward to it!

    1. It was a lovely show; it feels a little quiet around here now! There was a good amount of interest in the workshops, but, as I had to tell people, I decided just before the show, after much consultation, that it’s going to be a book now, with some smaller online additions. It was in danger of ballooning to enormous proportions as an online presence! Nobody seemed too sad about and so I’m pressing on with the project.

      1. I don’t underestimate the amount of planning and preparation that an online course takes and I can imagine you getting wrapped up in your enthusiasm for it. The one thing you don’t want is for it to become all consuming, leaving you precious time for your main passion, the work that is your lifeblood. So, whatever form it takes I shall still be joining in and enjoying the ongoing sharing of work in the blog!

      2. Thanks Lesley, I was concerned about disappointing some people but the course plan was enormous in itself. It would have had to go on for about 3 years I think, so a book will make me consolidate everything at least. Also it will be cheaper for people, and I hope to offer some online content too. I am making new work for each chapter of the book so that is satisfying my making urge quite well!

Comments are closed.