Much moving of stuff.

Well that’s the way it’s been around here, much moving of stuff, as we have been sorting my mother in law’s house over the last few days. She had a LOT of stuff too, I can tell you. I don’t think she’s thrown a thing away since 1949, and all tidily kept. It has been a revelation, you discover a lot more about people when they are gone, but truthfully I’m all for people doing whatever they like with their own houses and possessions. It’s just sad when the person has gone and the relevance of all those possessions changes radically. It’s made me enter into quite a declutter at home too. Pursuing the quiet joys of minimalism is the ideal, which isn’t ideal timing at the moment but when the mood takes you etc etc. In fact I think the simple nomadic life with a yurt and a camel may be the way to go, but I’m not sure if a camel can be classed as a minimal sort of chap, albeit a very self sufficient one. So here are few images of some completed, laid down pages for the second book, Rain and Sun, which I am making for my artist book book. All the pages are done now and waiting to be machine stitched. The first two images are two double page spreads, each about 1 metre wide. DSC_0319 DSC_0324   DSC_0339 Above, the cover in very early stages, and below, the laid down finished version. DSC_0340   Obtusely, the title will be on the back of the back cover, but that’s artist books for you, you can do exactly what you want.

8 thoughts on “Much moving of stuff.

  1. I love the idea of a yurt and a camel – but where would you plug in the sewing machine? Beautiful pages, thank you for sharing.

    1. That’s a point. I used to do lots of hand stitching but I think I’ve mined that seam now, far too lazy. I do have a non electric machine, one of those little chain stitch machines.
      It’s about 100 years old, and could probably work with the yurt/camel interface; it’s not very speedy though; I’d miss that pedal.

  2. Hi Steph. I’m in the early stages of a massive sort out. Hugely daunting. I love the cover. It’s perfect. Everything works so well. I am in awe, it’s beautiful. Please can I print a little picture of it to pin onto my wall above my desk, I won’t if you don’t want. X

    1. Hi Shelagh, I’ve found once you start it goes on and on. I can’t imagine how things got so out of hand! I love the space that results from a good old sort out though, but even though I started a couple of years ago [the whole house] I’m still moving stuff along. You are welcome to use the cover image, thank you for asking. I’ll send you an image when it’s finished, you can use that too if you want. xx

  3. A yurt sounds wonderful but have you ever got that close to a camel Steph? When I was feltmaking I couldn’t even use camel fibre to felt with as the smell , even after much processing, was horrendous. So perhaps think about a mobile home with power which retains the opportunity to up sticks at short notice and go where the mood takes you.
    It is so poignant to read that you find out more about someone after they’ve left us. I suppose that’s the way of things.Having done the same I don’t underestimate the time it takes to do these things. I love your idea of minimalism but having just come home from the charity shop with a few more jugs I am a fine one to talk! Love all that citrus and yellow colourway especially combined with the black. I know I’ve said that before but it is a winner.

  4. I think I’ll go with the all services on tap camper van you know, Lesley, since you’ve mentioned it. I don’t even like camping! I did once ride on a camel, but the closest I’ve been since was at West Midlands Safari Park. I’d love to smell that wiffy wool!
    Nothing wrong with enjoying objects, I still buy the occasional thing. I was just over enthusiastic in the past.
    Thanks for mentioning the yellow and black combination, I always forget how much I like it too.

Comments are closed.