New year, new work.

Well that’s the idea once I get over this cold. It’s not too bad actually, and the last cold I had was about 4 years ago so I can’t complain.

So, I photographed some materials, new sketchbooks and so on, but haven’t moved forward beyond enjoying going through the fabrics and having a think; I imagine I will be continuing with a project I started last year based upon natural history collections, as well as making new work based upon pattern, for a show next summer.

DSC_0241

I am hoping to use a fair amount of finished/almost finished work that wasn’t used in the projects it was originally destined for. I have lots of inspiring digital prints too.

DSC_0238

DSC_0243

DSC_0254

I am also using these new Moleskine Japanese albums, below, as sketchpads, adding notes and collage as the new work unfolds. They are too lovely to use actually, but I have made myself start with the larger cream paper one, although the black one is the most exciting. I’ll post the result when I have convincingly filled a few more pages.

DSC_0252

DSC_0250

DSC_0247

Until then, Happy New Year!

9 thoughts on “New year, new work.

  1. Your papers look so inspiring, winters cold colours with a hint of golden sun and red berries, I look forward to seeing the pages of your note books, Happy New Year, kind regards, Sue

    1. Thanks Sue, Happy New Year to you too. I was experimenting with putting materials together to inspire some work and the red appeared and just provided that spark of life. Hopefully I will be working on that piece this afternoon.

  2. Steph, another lovely blog! Hope your Christmas went well. Ours was good and everyone happy.

    Happy New Year to you all. Hope to see you again very soon,

    Jane x

  3. You can’t keep a good woman down. Even the Christmas holidays and the end of year limbo time doesn’t stop you! I love how you gather things together and then get the spark from just looking at them as a whole. Happy New Year for 2015. Looks like it’s going to be another busy one!

    1. Happy New Year Lesley, hope it’s a productive one for you too. I think getting out materials etc is my way of coping with the limbo, it seems to get me going and spark the enthusiasm in what can be a flat time of year.

Comments are closed.