An essay in images, mostly.

There are times, let’s be honest, when looking at pictures is much more fun than ploughing through many words. So, here is one of those times, lots of images and hopefully not too many words. IMG_2973I had a lovely day out with Hilary Beattie on Tuesday at Winterbourne Botanical Gardens here in Birmingham. I hadn’t seen her for ages, and it was great fun. This is what the gardens looked like in the glorious weather we had. Many photographs were taken; Hils must have taken about 500. IMG_2978 IMG_2979There she is, sneaking into the picture. IMG_2999 DSC_0058 DSC_0061 DSC_0062 In the second hand book shop there Hils found this bird book, which she very kindly let me have. I was going to stop buying books but this one and the gorgeous old botanical chap which follows were irresistible, and very cheap too. I love the paintings and engravings which feature throughout the books. DSC_0064 DSC_0068 DSC_0069 I’ve never seen a book so well used as this 1846 Treasure of Botany; many of the pages are taped in and repaired inside. It’s a dense read. DSC_0084 DSC_0088 DSC_0089 And now a couple more of those circles I’ve been laying down, as mentioned in my previous blog post, machine stitched and ready to be hand finished. IMG_3003 And, if you’re still with us, an image of part my show at the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists Gallery in Birmingham. It’s a small area, but one picture has just gone to a new home in Southampton, so can’t be bad. I’ll be demonstrating there on May 23rd, undoubtedly with all my circles.

2 thoughts on “An essay in images, mostly.

Comments are closed.