A very good time.

Well there we are, the Festival of Quilts all over for another year. I had a wonderful time on my stand, meeting and chatting to lots of people, many of whom I only see at shows, but it’s always a pleasure to see them, and all very life affirming stuff.

It seemed to me to be busier than ever this year. I managed to look around superficially a couple of times, but used the time as a chilling out exercise.

So, not many photographs, but  a few images here of the show before it opened, nice and easy to whizz around before work starts, taking in as much as possible. There were some amazing galleries, notably, for me, Quilt Art, Christine Chester, Through Our Hands and the Tent Makers of Cairo, and the chess set that won the Quilt Expressions category was glorious.

IMG_3296

IMG_3297

IMG_3299

IMG_3298

And below is my little stand. I’m having next year off, but will be working in the Art Textiles: Made in Britain gallery.

IMG_3279

I’m still sorting out and putting things away at home, though mercifully considerably less than I took; grateful thanks to my customers.

Next week, on the 19th and 20th, I am teaching at the RBSA galleries in Birmingham. The course is called Into the Trees, and we will be working with mixed media, paint, print and stitch. There are a couple of places available.

Below are some examples of some of my work based upon trees and woodland.

IMG_0040

.

TWO POOLS AUTUMN STEPHANIE REDFERN

.

??????????????

.

11 STARS PRINT COPY

.

DSC_0296

.

11

.

DSC_0020 - Version 2

.

DSC_0863C - Copy

.

IMG_0585

.

Untitled-2

.

%0A

.

 

 

7 thoughts on “A very good time.

  1. That Chess Set was fantastic wasn’t it! I loved your kits, Steph! So glad you had a good show. I am doing the Access to Higher Ed Art course at Malvern starting in September including painting, drawing, book binding, mixed media, textiles and sculpture. Am really looking forward to learning again and a new chapter in my life. So lovely to see you at the show, hope to catch up soon at a workshop maybe. Send my regards to Chloe, it’s so lovely to see her work, I keep up to date on her blog. Xx

  2. It was good to see you Catherine, I hope the course goes well, let me know if you have time. It’s good you are moving towards what you really want to do at last.
    I couldn’t stop looking at the characters in that chess set, absolutely amazing! xx

Comments are closed.