Concealed Revealed almost finished.

I’ve been posting about this artist’s book for some time now, and fortunately, for all of us, it’s nearly finished. I just have the binding to do, for which I am using the plaited string and holes method. This will suit the mood of the book, which is made using handmade Khadi paper, and is also all hand stitched. I wrote the haiku first, and built the book around them.

I have enjoyed using the very hand made methods in conjunction with the digital images which comprise the structure of the pages.

Here’s the cover.

DSC_0293
DSC_0295

The cover and all the pages, ready to be bound.

Below, the title page.

DSC_0294

And the remainder of the finished pages.

DSC_0249

DSC_0252

DSC_0262

DSC_0266

DSC_0268

DSC_0274

DSC_0256

DSC_0255

DSC_0259

I’ve also just finished a large canvas which is about to go to Minerva Arts Centre/Quilt Association in Llanidloes, Wales, as part of the Art Textiles: Made in Britain ‘Identity’ touring show. The show runs from April 30-May 30.

We each made a canvas to be displayed on the outside of the gallery at the Festival of Quilts where the show debuted in 2014, but my canvas was spotted by Lynette Anderson of Lynette Anderson Designs and now lives in Australia.

This is its replacement, Wildwood I, Into the Light.

DSC_0281

DSC_0282

DSC_0284

Art Textiles: Made in Britain have a gallery at the Festival of Quilts again this year, at the NEC, Birmingham, England. We are working with the title ‘Concealed’, and the book will be on show there.

4 thoughts on “Concealed Revealed almost finished.

  1. Khadi should give you shares! Every time I see one of your book pages I am reminded afresh what a perfect marriage of ideas and materials they are. The book is another triumph. Just stunning.

Comments are closed.