Little room.

There’s a White Stripes song, 50 seconds of genius, called Little Room; it’s on their album White Blood Cells, released in 2001. I’ve always liked this song, it resonated, and it’s been jumping in and out of my head for years. It seems to have totally influenced me at last. It’s about having great ideas in your little room and thinking you need a bigger room; it’s on YouTube.

I’ve recently relocated myself into what can accurately be called the box room. It would be a big box but it’s a very small room, being 2.5 x 3.5 metres. I have been happily working in the conservatory end of the kitchen for three plus years. This was a bigger space but I gradually stopped wanting to be there.

The ethos behind the song hasn’t always been accurate for me though. I was lucky enough to have a medium sized studio in the Custard Factory annexe in Birmingham for 2 years, and then an even bigger space was offered, so I was in that studio for another two years. And my work developed and changed through having these spaces just for work, with no home distractions.

I loved the big studio, even though ceiling tiles would occasionally fall to the floor. I was never hit, which is good, as they were quite chunky. Eventually I got lonely, so moved back home. I made a lot of large work there, because I could, and I was inspired . I also started lots of projects, put them under the very large table, and eventually, when I returned home to work, these projects kept me going for about two years. You can see a door to a safe in the image below; this was a very large safe, part of the offices of the company that owned the building previously, and was about the size of my box room.

Here are a couple of views of the big studio.

IMG_0006

IMG_0015

And here’s the old conservatory studio at home. I’ve decluttered a lot of materials since this was taken, and I’m happy to keep things more streamlined.

DSC_0039

Now I’m in a little room, back with the White Stripes vibe, and love it. I find it totally wonderful to work in. I don’t make such large work any longer; that came to a natural end, which is a relief because the house is full of it.

So here’s a tour of the little room. It won’t take long, obviously.

I love to look at artists’ work spaces and studios, it’s fascinating to see how people work. You wouldn’t find my room in Interiors magazine, or Wallpaper*, but it’s a place to get the creative work done happily, and that’s all we need. I still have the plan chest downstairs, so I’ve included a tour of its drawers too. I couldn’t manage without this at the moment. It has to stay downstairs as it’s the size and possibly the weight of a small bungalow. We had to take the door and part of the door frame off to get it into the house; I can’t see it leaving in a hurry.

This hanging, Sea Lily, is over the radiator.

IMG_0147 (1)

DSC_0314

All very tidy at the moment.

DSC_0315

DSC_0316

DSC_0329

DSC_0345

This is what’s in the little drawers.

DSC_0342

DSC_0347

This large basket holds all my bondawebbed fabric. It’s surprising how much you can pack in.

DSC_0348

Then all this stuff goes on top.

My computer and printer are in the room too, very handy to catch up on missed radio programmes and so on. Not the Archers, I’ve given that one up.

Here are the plan chest drawers. There is a mix of work I want to keep, needlepoints waiting to be blocked, and some fabrics, as well as paper and threads. It’s a fluid environment. Yes, that’s a Clanger.

DSC_0322

DSC_0323

DSC_0324

DSC_0325

DSC_0327

DSC_0328

Of course this doesn’t include my rather too large collection of finished work, which is in three top of the wardrobe cupboards, a chest, and there’s a couple of folders of design sheets and finished smaller work too, at the back of the wardrobe. One day soon I’ll get a studio sale on the go, well, that’s what I keep promising myself.

Next time, a new piece of work, conceived in the little room!

12 thoughts on “Little room.

  1. Thank you Sephanie, I really enjoyed seeing your room. It’s so tidy too! Are your poems Haikus ? I don’t know enough about this form of poetry to guess but I love your parred back poetry and the book I bought from you last year at F of Q
    Sue

    1. Thanks Sue! Yes, the room is tidy in the photographs, but it does have it’s messy moments, don’t worry.
      The poems are haiku. I like the concise and ordered form, it simplifies things when writing, and seems to help increase creativity.

    1. Hi Catherine, I can spend far to long on the internet peering into people’s homes, sadly. I use it as stress relief, but I have to watch it; Apartment Therapy can eat up the time!

  2. Perfectly timed post for me – after 18 years living in a small flat, with a large posh shed/studio at the bottom of my garden, I’m moving away to a house. I’ll have much more space, but I am determined not to clutter it with ‘stuff’. Having dabbled in a million arty/textiley project over the years, it’s probably time to cull all of the accumulated glass paints/ceramic paints/Fimo etc and stick to the paints papers and fabrics I really use!
    I always love seeing your work, but this insight into working in a smaller space is really helpful. Consider yourself bookmarked!

  3. Hi Gill, thanks for that, always good to be bookmarked. I always think it’s good to pare down your stuff, it aids creativity I find. A smaller amount of attractive ingredients is always more pleasurable to work with, and clears the mind, which can’t be bad.
    Hope the move and the declutter goes well, keep me posted.

  4. I’m instantly thinking of that phrase about ‘your minimum becoming your maximum’ yet I know this is not the right context. You probably get my drift though Steph as it’s really about scale isn’t it. The space looks great in that lovely ‘just tidied,ready for action’ state and it looks like it will focus the mind on what you produce. New spaces bring a new sense of creativity too and a desire to make a stamp on it early on. Looking forward to good things…. no pressure….

  5. Hi Lesley, hope all is well with you.
    I don’t think that will ever be the phrase for me, except when applied to housework, perhaps. I hope the need to push and do more new work will always be with me. But it’s one to keep in mind.
    The room has already failed to contain me, as I’ve just designed and drawn out quite a large needlepoint, but, now I’m working on some pieces that do have to be small, I’m channelling the space limitations too; it also demands a level of organisation since things get lost in piles of stuff! Hopefully it will continue to be a versatile space.

  6. Great to see a post about work spaces, thank you for posting a tour of your box room Stephanie; it looks warm, cosy, full of exciting things and its inspiring just seeing all your materials and bits and pieces. It looks like you’ve had some great spaces to work in over the years. It is important, but very personal isn’t it, you respond so differently to the difference spaces you’re in 😉

  7. Hi Phil, yes, work spaces shape us in many ways. Perhaps changing them every so often inspires us too; I’m certainly working harder than I have for some time, and feeling more upbeat. I do admit I loved that big studio though; I wish I had that at home, loose ceiling tiles and all.

Comments are closed.