Intermittent.

I’m so used to blogging fairly regularly that it seems strange not to do so, but it’s quite difficult when you are writing a book, as obviously the publishers don’t want you to show anything at all about its content.

This seems sensible, but since I blog mostly about my work and have been  working away at it solidly, and also visiting my mother who has been in hospital for a few weeks, I feel my existence is rather too dull to bang on about.

But, since I have been feeling the blog itch for a while, here is an effort. I am making a lot of new work for the book, which is in the Search Press Stitched Textiles series, and also writing about my design and making processes. It’s moving forward, but I can’t pretend it has been particularly easy. There has been a lot going on, and peace and quiet and enough good time are in short supply. But I am enjoying it.

Here’s my desk after printing some monoprints. I love the smell of those Gelli plates, is that too strange to admit, one wonders.

IMG_0323

These are disturbing times for all of us too, so, as it was our wedding anniversary at the weekend,  we went to a local National Trust property, Coughton Court. This is a Tudor house in Warwickshire, the gardens of which served to cheer and uplift. Well, they are amazing actually, like a huge setting that would be perfect for a Midsummer Night’s Dream. I would love to visit them on a night of full Moon and clear skies.

IMG_0353

Into the walled garden.

IMG_0423

The rose garden within the walled garden is stunning. I love stripy flowers  too.

IMG_0416

And the smells and colours are a balm to the brain.

IMG_0400

IMG_0398

IMG_0400

We seem to have veered towards pink here, but why not, tired of pink, tired of life I say.

IMG_0372

IMG_0410 (1)

IMG_0394

A luscious hedge.

And below, bees doing what they do, and posing for photographs, naturally.

IMG_0389

IMG_0379

IMG_0409

IMG_0340

Above, part of the bog garden.

To continue the colourful theme, a couple of new books I’m enjoying dipping into. A new book is such a cheering thing.

DSC_0064

4 thoughts on “Intermittent.

  1. Yes, it is hard sometimes to find the mental space for thinking, doing, writing, and blogging when other aspects of life are dominating. But you had a lovely day in the garden – I hope that will have helped!

  2. I’ve missed your regular contribution Steph as it always gives me food for thought but I can understand how the deadline of producing a book kicks everything else into touch. Glad you had a lovely day out. I was only wittering on yesterday about how much pink we had in the garden and I now realise that that is no bad thing! Happy Anniversary and continued success at the book writing coalface!

Comments are closed.