Walking in Venice, an artist’s book.

I posted an image from an artist’s book I made in 2014, on Instagram, so here, for those who may be interested, is the rest of the book. It’s mixed media, using photographs I took in Venice, some of them digitally altered and printed on different papers, with fabric, machine and hand stitch. It’s mounted on 30 cm diameter Khadi paper.53

The cover, superimposed on a view of part of Venice, actually quite a lot of it, from the ‘plane.

dsc_0169

DSC_0194 - Version 3

dsc_0196

dsc_0202

dsc_0208

If you’ve read Miss Garnet’s Angel by Salley Vickers, you have to visit this square and the Chiesa dell’ Angelo Raffaele. When we went it was very quiet, and just starting to rain.

dsc_0210

 

dsc_0213

dsc_0205

DSC_0214 - Version 2

dsc_0226

dsc_0219

 

dsc_0225

dsc_0264

dsc_0228

dsc_0231

I’ve just started a new artist’s book, it’s going through a complex gestation, but is slowly coming together. Posting Walking in Venice here has made me consider another circular book, so that’s moved things on a little too, happily.

8 thoughts on “Walking in Venice, an artist’s book.

  1. I really loved reading Miss Garnet’s Angel and although I’ve never been to Venice, the book gives me the essence of a wonderful trip there. Just been to see a great printmakers artist book exhibition down in Bovey Tracey and that has already spurred me on to make a book of my own. Having read this I’m even more fired up to get on with it now ! Beautiful Steph, just beautiful.

  2. Sounds like a good exhibition Lesley, I hope it does get you going with your book, they are extremely absorbing to make. One page or set of pages can spark new ideas as you go along, so even if you start with a plan it’s amazing the way it can develop into areas you may not have thought of. You can of course end up with the most enormous book…
    Your prints would look fantastic in an artist’s book.

Comments are closed.