It must be spring; Winter Book finished.

As predicted I’ve finished my porcelain and textile Winter Book in spring. I have started a Summer Book now, which may well be finished in its actual season, which would be nice, and quite unusual for me..

The Winter Book will be shown in an exhibition later in the year, and hopefully the Summer Book too.

The panels are high fired porcelain with copper carbonate and some clear glaze for those of you with an interest in ceramic processes. Some are made from or include black porcelain.

They were rolled out by hand and textured with various texture blocks I’ve made over the last couple of years. They are mostly about 12 -15 cm, 5-6 inches, designed to be hung, or shown flat.

The textile additions are mainly moths, printed using iron on transfer sheets, with some stitch and beads. Other textile added to the panels are digitally printed and stitched silk images taken from my collages and finished work. There’s silver leaf too, some of which was advertised as edible; I didn’t eat any during the making of this piece.

The book was actually finished earlier but I didn’t like it, so ripped all the textile bits off and started playing with the moths instead. These came from a piece of work I’ve had on the wall of my workroom for ages. It’s now somewhat dismantled.

There are 16 panels altogether, although clever bods will note that there are 18 here, mainly because some are repeated to fit in with Instagram squares, of course.

Below, some individual panels.

.

.

.

.

And to finish, below, some more porcelain bits and pieces, ready to be used in future mixed media projects, although the Moon has been appropriated by the Winter Book already. There are some tiny pages for a little bound book. A friend thinks it should be called A Fragile Tale, which I very much like.

I love the black and white fragments. I have no idea yet what I’ll do with them, but I get them out to have a look at every so often. The bowl is thrown porcelain. I love throwing, but sold my wheel ages ago, which I regret.

Thank you for reading or even just looking at the pictures! Keep making, be positive, do it.

6 thoughts on “It must be spring; Winter Book finished.

Comments are closed.