New[ish] year round up.

I did mean to post earlier than this but no matter, here we are. This post is a little round up of work in progress and work finished at the end of last year and the beginning of this year. I seem to have quite a few things going on at the same time, which seems to be my operating system these days. Just trying to cram it all in. Having ideas is great but having them is quicker than trying them out and developing them, as we all know.

.

Above, a composite image of all that follows, well, most of what follows.

.

.

Textiles first, and here’s a finished hoop from my new series, Poems. He’s quite a character, this mandrill, and I hope he’ll show up in other pieces of work too. I’ll probably photograph him and print him on some fabric, when I decide where he fits in. Or, when he decides.

The hoops in this series are 53 cm/21 inches in diameter.

.

Below, some details.

.

.

.

Now a piece in progress from the same series. It includes three little ceramic faces, and the poem is about them too.

.

.

.

I’ve finished some ceramic masks that may be involved in a future project, but at the moment are waiting to be hung on the wall. For the ceramicists out there, and anyone else who is interested or is watching Pottery Throwdown at the moment, they were made in stoneware crank clay, decorated with porcelain slips, then biscuit fired to 1000 Celsius. Copper carbonate was then applied, and some brush marks of clear shiny glaze. They were then fired to 1260 Celsius in an electric kiln. Then I’ve added gold leaf. Here they are.

.

.

Antelope, about 36 cm/14 inches.

.

.

Elephant, about 36 cm/14 inches.

.

.

Yes it’s a zebra, 34 cm/13 inches more or less.

.

.

Goat, 20 cm/8 inches.

.

There’s a rhino and a crow in the pipeline too.

.

I’m quite immersed in stop motion animation too at the moment, and hopefully into the future. As you can imagine it’s a slow business but I love it. I’ve made the assets, as they are called, for a couple of ideas I have. These are the puppets and props that you need in this sort of project. I’ve done some experimental filming and I’m getting to grips with the tech.

At some point it will come together and a longer film will emerge. As it takes a long time to make basically a    nano second of film, don’t hold your breath…

Here’s the ‘studio’, basically the same space where I do the rest of my work, so I spend a lot of time moving things around, and putting things away.

.

..

.

.

And to finish, a nice sunny image of projects in progress on the worktable.

.

.

Thanks for looking, keep on making!

9 thoughts on “New[ish] year round up.

Comments are closed.