Moving on with the Moth Pages.

My eight hoop series the Moth Pages is all laid down and ready to stitch. Well, one is already stitched and finished, and I’m onto the second now, which is good because they need to be done by the end of July as I’ve entered them into the Art Quilts category in the Festival of Quilts at the NEC, Birmingham.

I wasn’t sure whether to or not, but thought the deadline would be a good motivation to get on with them.They take a while to stitch, being quite large hoops.

So here are a few images, starting with the raw materials, which include a mix of fabrics, new and recycled, porcelain moths, other pieces of porcelain, some inspirational botanical material, and fabrics and papers printed with digital images from my collages and photographs. The book in the first image is my own Stitched Textiles: Nature. I’m revisiting, in part, one of my projects in the book, which uses moth and butterfly shapes and hand stitch.

The hoops are 40 cm/16 inches across, with a slightly weird old fashioned tv shape, and the works are constructed from all the above, with added hand stitch in a mix of threads, and beads. Following on there are some work in progress images, and a few of Instagram typical flat lays [I love a flat lay] with some shots of the first finished piece, at the end of the post.

There we go, fewer words, lots of pictures.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Below, the first finished piece. It’s not meant to be minimal.

.

.

.

Back to stitching then. I’ll post more as I finish them.

10 thoughts on “Moving on with the Moth Pages.

  1. Your in-progress photos look beautiful and they make me keen to see the finished work. I’m sure they’ll be a delight to see ‘in person’ at the exhibition. (Wish I could go!)

    1. Thank you Rachel. Things are ok at the moment, but I must remember to keep at it. Finishing the backs is my least favourite part, that’s when I grit my teeth and really have to force myself to get it done!

Comments are closed.